Skip to content
The Champion Group
News >>

GROUP : Award-winning firm delighted to be champion of milestone awards

THEY know what it’s like to enjoy that winning feeling – and now the team at Champion Group are looking forward to supporting a landmark A Place to be Proud of Awards and to crowning an Unsung Hero.

Champion Group, based in Wella Road, are a renowned Basingstoke business with a strong track record of supporting the local community. As well as supporting a chosen charity each year, the company backs other local initiatives and have been the main sponsor at Basingstoke Rugby Football Club for 25 years.

The construction industry company, which offers comprehensive integrated building services, are delighted to be supporting the 2023 A Place to be Proud of Awards as sponsor of the Unsung Hero category.

Kevin Croombs, group accountant at Champion Group, said:

As a local business with over 40 years of supporting our community, and being a winner of the Business and the Community award in 2018, we are delighted to support the 20th A Place to be Proud of awards as sponsors of the Unsung Hero category.

These awards really showcase the best of the Basingstoke and Deane area and we are proud to be associated with them. We look forward to reviewing the nominations in the Unsung Hero category and to celebrating all the nominees at the awards evening on June 8.

It was back in 2003 that the first awards were launched – and since then, hundreds of wonderful finalists and winners have been recognised for their outstanding achievements in, or contributions to, Basingstoke and Deane.

The team at Destination Basingstoke, with the support of community-focused sponsors, have organised the awards for many years, and this successful partnership is the driving force behind the 2023 awards which will culminate in the grand finale at the Haymarket Theatre, in Basingstoke, on the evening of Thursday, June 8.

Jonathan Pender, chair of Destination Basingstoke, said:

The A Place to be Proud of Awards is always a special occasion, and this year’s event will be particularly memorable as we celebrate the 20th birthday of the awards.

Destination Basingstoke, with the support of fantastic sponsors and key partners, has been delighted to deliver these awards for many years, and it is always wonderful to put the spotlight on the people, businesses and community organisations that make Basingstoke and Deane a place to be proud of.

The judges are looking forward to receiving lots of nominations and to selecting the finalists and winners for this landmark occasion.

There are a range of categories, sponsored by local businesses. The awards are free to enter, and the categories are:

  • Health & Wellbeing Award – sponsored by Lilly
  • Community Project Award – sponsored by Destination Basingstoke
  • Above and Beyond Award – sponsored by Castle Trust Bank
  • Volunteer of the Year Award – sponsored by Beaufort Financial (Reading)
  • Arts & Entertainment Award – sponsored by Basingstoke Community Radio
  • Young Role Model Award – sponsored by Queen Mary’s College
  • Unsung Hero Award – sponsored by Champion Group
  • Business and the Community Award – available for sponsorship

As well as celebrating this year’s finalists and winners, the 2023 A Place to be Proud of Awards is offering past winners the chance to make a welcome return and be part of this memorable evening.

One hundred free tickets have been reserved for past winners on a first come, first served basis. To get yours, please email Mark Jones on, stating what award you won and when. The deadline to register for these free tickets is March 31 but this opportunity will close early if all the tickets are taken and allocated.

Destination Basingstoke will once again be working with Basingstoke Voluntary Action, as a key partner, to help ensure the call to nominate reaches every part of the community, and Gazette Newspapers, which was a founder of the awards in 2003, is the media partner for the 20th year.

Nominations can be made online at  and the closing date is April 28, 2023. All nominees of finalists will be invited to the awards ceremony.